Senate Dumps Nominee for NERC’s Chair, Confirms Six Others


The nominee for the chairmanship of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission (NERC) has been dropped by the Nigerian Senate.  Prof. Akintunde Akinwande was dropped as a result of his failure to appear before the Senate Committe on Power, Steel Development and Metallurgy for screening on Tuesday.

This is not the first time Prof. Akintunde Akinwande has failed to appear before the Senate for screening, this has left the committee with no choice than to ask President Muhammadu Buhari to present another nominee to replace Akinwande.

The committee however went on to confirm the nomination of six members for the board of the Nigerian Electricity Regulatory Commission.

The confirmed nominees are Nathan Rogers Shatti (North-East),  Sanusi Garba (North-West), Moses Arigu (North-Central),  Frank Okafor (South-East) and Musiliu Oseni (South-West), Dafe Akpedeye (South-South).

Sanusi Garba  was confirmed as Vice-Chairman of NERC, the other five were confirmed as commissioners.

Source: IWIN

(Visited 74 times, 1 visits today)

Powered by Nextier